Big milestones

Hey, folks! Here’s what I’ve been up to for the past month or so.

How Am I?

I’m doing OK. To be honest, saying that April and the first week of May were eventful is the understatement of the century.

Judge Ketanji Brown Jacksons speaks at a White House press conference.

On April 7, I witnessed the U.S. Senate confirm Ketanji Brown-Jackson as the newest Supreme Court Justice! It’s always fantastic to see Black women make history, but even more awesome during Black Women’s History Month.

On April 23, I attended Beat Craft, a virtual music festival hosted by DJ Eu4ic. It was a blast and, to be honest, it helped me relax after a hectic day out, which I’ll explain in a bit.

A jam-packed live music concert.

This past week, I posted recaps of several episodes of Wheel of Fortune on a blog. And on Wednesday, I got a real treat – click this link to see what happened. (Side-note: it’s ironic that this happened during a theme week titled “Big Money.”)

And of course, I celebrated Easter Sunday (April 17) and Mother’s Day (May 8). So, I’m looking forward to taking it easy, one day at a time.

Today I’m Listening to…

“Romantic” by Karyn White

Until a week ago, I thought Karyn White’s biggest hit was her powerful 1988 ballad, “Superwoman.” I was dead wrong.

“Romantic,” which was released in 1991, was actually her only song that reached the top of the Billboard Hot 100 charts, while “Superwoman” peaked at #8. And she has a catalog of jams, from “The Way You Love Me” to “Secret Rendezvous,” that have earned her the title “Queen of New Jack Swing,” according to several forums and websites.

Let’s celebrate!

On Saturday, April 23

I graduated from college!

John-Paul Mackey poses for a photo at his college graduation ceremony.

Well, my school had an official graduation ceremony, that is. (I graduated in 2021, but that year, there was a drive-thru celebration.) I’m so happy my family was there to see me walk across the stage. It’s taken five years (not counting this past school year), two degrees, and one ton of hard work and dedication – but I made it. (I guess the only thing that would’ve made it even better was bringing my diploma.)

With that said, here’s the ceremony! (If you’d like to see me walk across the stage, navigate to 39:04 in this video.)

Joking around

On April 1, I made this “announcement”: I would never do podcasts again.

I’m not sure if you took the hint from the clown emoji in the description, but this was a PRANK!

Of course, I’ll probably do a podcast sooner or later and talk about my true feelings about certain misogynistic podcasters/”dating coaches.”. But let me know if you were fooled by this announcement.

Music to My Ears

I’ll wrap up this blog post with some advice for video editors.

When you edit the audio of your footage, you want to ensure that you can hear it in both ears (or two speakers). But sometimes, you may only hear it in one ear, and this can throw off your viewing and listening experience. Shout-out to Shawn Dolinski for showing us how to fix this issue in Adobe Premiere.

(By the way, you should always check the audio of your footage before trimming it or even shooting it.)

And for podcasters and sound designers, ZaVa Sound has an easier method for fixing one-sided audio tracks in Adobe Audition.


That was a mouthful. Stay safe, be well, and I’ll talk to you soon!

Leave a comment